top of page

Day 4. Quotes that stick with you.


Hey guys.

Bit of a delay with this blog, went to see the Star Wars film after work followed by beer.

So for day 4 Regina has asked us to select 3 quotes that describe how I view life and how they can affect success. The quotes I find the best are usually from films and books. There are so many to choose from, but there has always been a few that stand out to me and one that stands out above the rest as it rings true to for me is from Charlie Chaplin in “The Dictator”, the speech is pretty long so I’ll just put one paragraph of it in this section but please watch the video. If you would like it to impact you further have a listen to the song “Iron Sky” by Paolo Nutini.

“Soldiers! don’t give yourselves to brutes – men who despise you – enslave you – who regiment your lives – tell you what to do – what to think and what to feel! Who drill you – diet you – treat you like cattle, use you as cannon fodder. Don’t give yourselves to these unnatural men – machine men with machine minds and machine hearts! You are not machines! You are not cattle! You are men! You have the love of humanity in your hearts! You don’t hate! Only the unloved hate – the unloved and the unnatural! Soldiers! Don’t fight for slavery! Fight for liberty!” – Charlie Chaplin, The Dictator 1940.

Posted by LinkTheCoward.

This speech has a lot of meaning in the world today. With all that is happening around us, people tend to forget that we are all the same, we all put one shoe on at at time, we all get up and go to work, we all look for comfort in others. We might have different ways of doing them, but we all do them. So if this speech doesn’t rile you up, I don’t know what will.

Now this blog wouldn’t be me if I didn’t include a Lord of the Rings quote but come on, isn’t Gandalf just the Taid (Granddad) you never had?

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” – J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring 1954

I always turn the volume up in this scene when they are in Moria. The scene is about how people portray their lives. How people decide on what they believe they must do with the decisions they must make. The reason this quote means so much to me is solely the reason I’ve started to blog. I hope this will one day benefit me to live the life I want to live, to do this I need to be clever with the time I have now.

Posted by EgalmothOfGondolin01.

Now there are loads of other quotes I could be putting in the 3rd slot here, but the one I’ve decided to put is from Pokemon the first Movie. Yes that’s right you read that correctly, POKEMON.

“I see now that the circumstances of one’s birth are irrelevant; it is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are”. Mewtwo – Pokemon The First Moive.

Posted by IanGingras.

Now the message is pretty similar to the Gandalf message. The reason I chose it, was because of the target audience this quote was meant for. My generation was lucky enough to be the one at the right age to appreciate Pokemon when it became a hit. Ask anyone between the age of 21-29 that watched Pokemon, I guarantee you that they still appreciate the original series today. “Grabs Nintendo Gameboy and plays Pokemon Red”

The main message is here is live life to its fullest, because you have the right to.

Hope you guys enjoyed the videos I included. Just wanted to give a thanks to the guys that had posted the videos.

Day 5 will be put up soon.

Thanks guys.


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page